Singaporean food + Avocado Chimichurri + HTC EVO 4G

2 Jun

The weather is finally warming up although nights are still brisk here in San Mateo. We went to visit a friend in Menlo Park in hopes of having dinner and seeing a movie after. We ended up eating out and then sitting at her place talking while petting her cats. She has two boy kitties almost the same color as my cats! I should have taken pictures. She took us out to have Singaporean food, which was delicious.

The restaurant was called Shiok! and has a large menu with many delicious sounding dishes. They had many desserts too but we didn’t splurg. The serving sizes are normal, meaning that you can finish it in one sitting without bursting your stomach unlike most other restaurant serving sizes.

I (a.k.a Athena – I got cast as Athena from BSG because Brian was Helo..) got the Hor Fun because it’s my favorite noodle. Hor fun is a broad rice noodle and can be cooked “dry” or in soups. This one was cooked in a egg gravy with veggies and seafood (squid and shrimp). I didn’t love the gravy but the dish was tasty overall.

Brian (a.k.a. Helo) got the Singaporean Chicken and Rice, which I know as the hoy nam gai fan from Malaysian restaurants I used to go to in Brooklyn. I LOVE the rice, it’s cooked in chicken broth and aromatics.. super flavorful. The chicken is served room temperature with dipping sauces (soy, ginger, chili). There are also cucumbers under the chicken so they catch the chicken drippings. Chicken broth on the side but it was very oily so uneaten. Pictures like this makes me hate my camera because I cannot tell from the screen that they’re blurry. =( My camera is old.

Our friend Anya (a.k.a. Starbuck) got the vegetarian Mee Goreng. This dish was really, really good. If I get to go back, I might have to get this one. Chock full of veggies in a yummy tomatoe-y sauce.

For lunch today, I made avocado chimichurri because I have lots of parsley to use up from the CSA box. It turned out delicious even though I don’t like parsley. I followed this recipe but halved it, substituted sushi vinegar, added a chopped scallion, and left out the jalapeno simply because I didn’t have any. I put it on a half a sourdough torpedo with pan fried zucchini and pickled carrots. It was super satisfying and the flavors were so bright. I think the sweetness from the pickled carrots and sushi vinegar really makes it better.

Onto something not food related…

Look at this awesome phone! Brian went to Google I/O a few weeks ago and got a “free” HTC EVO 4G (there was a registration fee). I’ve been using it for the past week and a half and we just realized yesterday that it wasn’t even on the market yet! Haha, now I feel special. It comes out June 4th for $199 with contract from Sprint. =( I don’t have Sprint. It’s currently running on a month’s subscription of voice and data service.

It’s soooooo fast and really sexy. The screen is huge and super responsive. It’s an android phone and has “4G” service (4G in quotes because nothing is truly 4G yet). Only drawbacks so far is that the battery life is short since it can do so much; the four menu buttons are too responsive in that I accidentally touch them by just holding the phone; GPS sucks compared to iPhone; and it’s a bit less intuitive to use than the iPhone so it has a bigger learning curve for non-tech savy people.

a lot bigger than my Env3 but sleeker

Check out this review by IntoMobile for a more in depth look and more pics. I want one! Ugh.. too bad my phone plan doesn’t end for a long time.

2 Responses to “Singaporean food + Avocado Chimichurri + HTC EVO 4G”

  1. Ray June 2, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    EVO! Jealous =(

    Also, Chicken rice is the best thing ever. Ugh, I miss Singapore.

  2. cindy June 6, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    we’ve actually already had our phones for a year, so we could theoretically get new plans/phones in another year.

    pretty sure i’m jumping ship to another provider and getting a smartphone

Leave a Reply

