Bentos for Cherry Blossom Hanami (32-35)

25 Apr

I finally got to go to see the cherry blossoms at Brooklyn Botanical Garden! The weather was perfect for spending the day out among the flowers. It was a little late for the cherry blossoms, they were past their prime as you can see by all the green leaves. If I had a chance to go last week it would have been prettier but it was raining and I was busy. The flowers were falling all over the place though so it was really pretty sitting under the trees. Unfortunately it was crowded and everyone kept yanking on the branches to shake the flowers down. It really sucks for the Matsuri festival next week because I don’t know if there will be any flowers left on the trees by then! People yanking really hard on the trees annoyed me.. it’s okay to tap it but don’t freaking yank it so it BLIZZARDS flowers on you! You’re ruining it for everyone else!! Ranting aside.. it was a gorgeous day out with friends. =D I’m so grateful my friends got to join me. At the end of the day we made pink mochi to celebrate too but the pictures came out pretty glaringly pink. So tasty!

I’m counting the bento boxes as #32-35 because I made four boxes.

Bigger boxes (2 of these boxes)

Boxes all had: salmon flavored sakura onigiri, miso chicken, tamagoyaki (egg rolls), roasted herbed teeny potatoes, cherry tomatoes, orange slice, grapes.

Eating on grass makes it yummier (2 of these boxes)

Then we went to Blue Marble Ice Cream nearby for a creamy sweet treat. Cute doggie!

Organic blackberries and cream / dulce de leche.

And some pics of the blossoms! If you’re friends with me on facebook, I posted more pictures there.. lots of tulips too!

4 Responses to “Bentos for Cherry Blossom Hanami (32-35)”

  1. evita2005 April 25, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    OMG these pics and bento boxes and cherry blossoms are to DIE! Gawgeous!!!

  2. Kajal - Aapplemint April 28, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    Lovely pictures, the cherry blossoms are always such a beautiful sight.

  3. tofugirl May 10, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Gorgeous! I went the weekend before you did which I think was right at the peak, and skipped the Matsuri specifically because I didn’t think there were going to be any blossoms left! I think I’ll have to go back soon to see the roses and peonies, though 😀 Your sakura onigiri is so cute!

  4. Bentobird/Jenn September 15, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    So beautiful, the translucent pink blossoms transport me back to early spring….

Leave a Reply

