New Things (CSA Week 2)

4 Jun

We’re trying really hard to cook and eat in during the week and so far it’s going well. I was tempted to go have sushi for dinner tonight but ended up making noodles in peanut sauce. I sort of followed the recipe from here but subbed in water + dashi powder for the chicken stock, used less garlic, left out the ginger, and added a splash of sesame oil. Really simple and delicious. I served it with a mix of udon and yakisoba noodles because that’s all we had left. We tossed in some carrots and zucchini sauted with the scallions. The strawberries were gifted to us from my cousin and her husband because they managed to get a flat of strawberries for $5 somewhere along the road! Half flats were selling for $15 at the Ferry market!! They scored a major deal and the strawberries were sweet too. These are the last of them and we had to eat them because they were getting too ripe. The red romaine in the background are the last of the huge bag we got in CSA share 1 last week.

Yesterday I found an excuse to use the slow cooker I got from the thrift store for $10. I made slow cooked Bolognese sauce using this recipe. I left out the carrots, celery and nutmeg because I didn’t have any on hand and used a large onion instead. I also didn’t use any wine because Brian didn’t have a wine bottle opener even though he has wine. Erfs. The only thing I added was a small can of tomato paste for a rich tomato flavor. The sauce was so good. Make sure you leave the lid off for the last half hour or so for it to reduce and thicken up. Yum. I froze about two quarts of it for future noms.

We went back to Walmart and got our bikes and the bike carrier. We hooked up the carrier to the trunk of the car and loaded the bikes on. Luckily, they both fit! We were scared that they wouldn’t due to their shock absorbing frame design.  I was really scared the whole way home that they were going to fall off the care but the carrier held up surprisingly well. Mine’s the purple (24″ wheels) and Brian’s is the same in red (26″ wheels). Mine is considered a “youth” bike but hey, I’m short.

aww, they match.. kind of. (ignore the mess)

We used the bikes to pick up our veggies!

CSA share of veggies

Here’s our share of CSA (2nd week) produce. Doesn’t look like much but it’s actually a LOT of stuff volume wise. I forgot to include the box of strawberries in the picture because I already put it in the fridge. I’m not too happy with our share this week because it’s mostly all green stuff, which are sometimes bitter (like last week’s red romaine). Hopefully we’ll get better stuff as the summer progresses.

Here’s what we got (click on pic for notes):
– 1 box strawberries
– Chantenay carrots
– baby summer squash
– huge bag of spinach
– bigger red romaine lettuce (probably bitter)
– red butter lettuce (slightly bitter with buttery notes)
– arugula (bitter + spicy notes)
– agretti (totally new veggie for us, no idea what it is but supposed to be like sour grass??)
– bunch of cilantro (hidden)

Any ideas on how to eat all this besides raw? Here are some ideas I have so far.. lettuces + arugula salads, cilantro + last week’s parsley walnut pesto, squash pesto pasta salad, agretti sesame salad (like the Japanese seaweed salad), agretti parathas..

I really need a spinach recipe guys!! Please help me out. I want something that will cook up that whole bag so I don’t have to deal with it. Or at least half the bag so I can blanch the rest and freeze it. I like palek paneer but don’t have the ingredients to make it and I don’t love creamed spinach. Thanks!

4 Responses to “New Things (CSA Week 2)”

  1. tofugirl June 4, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    How about that Korean style spinach that they serve at bbq restaurants? You blanch, shock, and drain spinach (squeeze all the water out), then chop and mix with sesame oil, salt, garlic, and sesame seeds. You can serve it cold, so it’s good to keep in the fridge. Ooh and Smitthen Kitchen has a recipe for chickpeas and spinach that sounds delicious…

    • eula June 5, 2010 at 4:08 am #

      Great ideas! Korean spinach salad IS pretty good. Thank you so much for that link, I will totally make that dish. Only problem is that I don’t have paprika (working in bf’s extremely limited kitchen.. haha). I’ll use garlic powder instead.

  2. Karu June 5, 2010 at 2:53 am #

    Eula, those strawberries! and the purple bike! jealous!
    the peanut udon/soba noodles look really yummyyy. I have no input about spinach recipes… but cilantro is good for some banh mi or beef stew? MmMmmm….hungry at 3am….

    • eula June 5, 2010 at 4:09 am #

      Thanks Carol! Do you have a beef stew recipe that uses cilantro? I have some stew beef in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

