Rum Cake

28 Aug

I’m back! I’m finally back home in NYC after living with my boyfriend in San Mateo for the summer. Then I went on a really enjoayble cruise to Bermuda. Now that I’m home with a stocked kitchen again, I can cook whenever I want to. Cruises love to sell you things and alcohol is cheap on board. I got a bottle of Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum for $11, perfect for rum cake. Bermuda has a rum cake factory and we got to taste many flavors of rum cake. The only issue was the price! $12.95 for 4 oz of cake was too much so we ended up buying cheaper non-Bermudan rum cake on the ship as souvenirs for people. Once I got home, I knew I had to make a rum cake for us to enjoy.

I followed this recipe using only half the glaze to reduce the fat and alcohol factor. I also left out the nuts and used Pillsbury vanilla cake mix with pudding already in it. I highly recommend the recipe because it’s easy and doesn’t taste like box cake at all! Make sure you spray your bundt pan so it doesn’t stick and poke holes into the cake with a skewer before glazing it. Half the recipe of glaze makes a nice outer coating of rum flavor but the inside is not saturated. For a more saturated cake, use the full recipe of glaze. The cake is moist and full of flavor.

2 Responses to “Rum Cake”

  1. Joanne August 28, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    I love that you did a rum cake tasting on a cruise…that is SO something I would do! I wonder how this rum cake would taste with coconut rum. hmmm…

  2. Tammy McLeod August 28, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    Absolutely my favorite cake. Here in my city, there is a woman who has made an incredible business just making rum cakes.

Leave a Reply

