Fourth of July Cherry Pie + CSA Share 7

8 Jul

My mom’s birthday is July 4th but I wasn’t home to celebrate with her. Here’s a picture of a pie for you mom? I baked this pie to enter into Craftster’s cooking challenge for fun. I have too much fruit that Brian won’t eat including cherries, lychee and watermelon. He also bought grapes and we got more strawberries from out weekly CSA share.

Pretty right? I accidentally added too much salt to the crust but it’s okay because the filling is sweet. Here’s the recipe.

Fourth of July Cherry Pie

Ingredients:

Filling:
1.5 – 2 lbs sweet cherries, pitted
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
~2 Tbsp corn starch

Crust:
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
8 oz (1 stick) butter, cut into cubes and chilled
~5 Tbsp ice water
1 egg, yolk separated

Instructions:
1. Using a food processor (I used my fingertips because I don’t have a food processor), pulse the cold butter pieces with the flour, salt and sugar until it looks like soft bread crumbs.
2. Add the water 1 Tbsp at a time until the mixture sticks together when squeezed.
3. Form into a ball and use immediately or wrap and refrigerate. If using immediately, roll out into pie dish or press into tart pan. Brush crust with egg white and refrigerate until needed. Save about a handful of dough for decoration.
4. Mix all filling ingredients together in a medium pot. Heat on medium-high heat until mixture thickens. Remove from heat and place into crust.
5. Using saved dough, roll out and cut stripes and stars. Place onto pie. Mix the remaining egg white with the egg yolk and brush onto dough. Sprinkle top of pie with sugar.
6. Bake at 375 F until top is golden brown and filling is bubbling, about 30-45 minutes.

Week 7 of our CSA share, only 2 left! Thinking of not renewing because I’ll be leaving in a few weeks and Brian won’t be able to eat all the food by himself. That and he won’t be able to and won’t have time to cook everything.

Here’s what we got this week:
basil
red norland potatoes – traded fennel for this in the trade box
carrots
cipolinni onions
strawberries
cherry and heirloom tomatoes – oooh heirloom tomatoes!
cabbage – need cabbage recipes! i have 2 heads now.. maybe dumplings?
romaine lettuce
red leaf lettuce

We have about 700 photos of camping to go through so I can’t say when they’ll be posted. I’ll try my best to screen some and put those up on facebook.

6 Responses to “Fourth of July Cherry Pie + CSA Share 7”

  1. tofugirl July 9, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    That pie looks awesome! I eat cherries so fast that I never have enough to bake with, hehe. (Watermelon too–my friend told me the other day he doesn’t like watermelon and I was shocked. I think I’ve gone through about 1 a week since the beginning of summer.)

    • eula July 9, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

      My boyfriend doesn’t eat watermelon either! My family downs watermelon like it’s nothing. I currently have a cut up watermelon in the fridge that’s all mine. That and cherries.. and lychee.. all of which he doesn’t eat!

      • tofugirl July 10, 2010 at 12:29 am #

        Oh well, their loss, our gain! Hehe. Although I have to admit, I’m not that big a fan of lychees myself, probably because the ones you can buy here aren’t very fresh.

  2. Tammy McLeod July 9, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Gorgeous pie! I love the presentation.

  3. Emily July 13, 2010 at 2:05 am #

    What a gorgeous cherry pie! Definitely perfect for the Fourth of July. 🙂

  4. Lifesart June 26, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    Hi Eula – I found this recipe because Craftster featured it in this week’s email. And I was just thinking that cherries are in the stores now and for some silly reason, like I LOVE cherry pie, a friend gave me a cherry pitter as a gift! Yay! thanks for the great recipe. Jah love

Leave a Reply

