CSA Share 3

11 Jun

This is what we got for week 3 of our CSA membership.

click for notes

The share looks smaller this week but it was heavier!

We got:
summer squash – 3 funky shaped ones
strawberries – each week they’re getting bigger and darker
butter lettuce – baby head means no bitterness, yummy!
red butter lettuce – I think, it might be red leaf, looks like a cross
parsley – more!?! I realized I really hate parsley.. even more than cilantro. Anyone want free parsley?
tuscan kale – looks gorgeous! kale is so tasty.
bacon avocados – oooOoOOoOh, we got FOUR
oyster mushrooms – yay! shrooms!

avocados, oyster mushrooms and summer squash

We have a lot of summer squash piling up. Turns out Brian doesn’t like them and I don’t love them. I wish we had a grill because I liked them grilled but I just end up pan frying them. Any ideas? I have a squash gratin recipe but I don’t know how that will turn out. I could also make lasagna but that would be way too much food for 2 people and not likely something we want twice.

I never heard of Bacon Avocados before so I looked it up. Apparently they’re “light tasting” so I’m assuming they’ll be less rich than the Hass Avocado. I do know that I don’t love Florida avocados. I don’t know if that’s the official name but they’re the ones commonly grown in Florida and are the giant smooth skinned green ones. The flavor does not compare to Californian strains.

Going to Google tonight with Amanda. Might go strawberry picking this weekend! Looks like it’s going to be a warmer weekend, yay!

4 Responses to “CSA Share 3”

  1. Ullrich Fichtner June 11, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Lovely pictures. Thanks!

  2. Karu June 12, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    OooOoo what are you gonna do with those shrooms?

    • eula June 16, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

      I added some to soup and sauted the rest with butter, salt and pepper. YUM!

  3. eleni June 13, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    Many good things here…

Leave a Reply

