More food

8 Jun

We still have a lot of CSA veggies to eat up this week. We have both the lettuces, half the agretti, arugula, squash, half the parsley and half the cilantro. Going to be a salad filled week. We’re getting more parsley and lettuce this week too. I discovered I really dislike parsley, even more so than cilantro. I made a pesto and used up half the cilantro and parsley but I didn’t like it too much so I stuck it in the freezer for later use.

Turns out agretti is pretty tasty. It’s salty and sour with a nice crisp texture. Almost like a scallion with lemon but without the spicy bite of onion. I used half of it in agretti parathas using this recipe. Indian flat bread is nice and chewy. The recipe calls for rolling out 20 pieces but that makes them too small so I cut them a bit bigger. Very satisfying to snack on. Here’s a picture of the “rolling pin” I used since Brian’s kitchen is lacking.

a good snack

The strawberries we got were really ripe this time so we had to use them up fast. We made strawberry muffin batter and then realized we didn’t have muffin tins so we improvised with a foil pie pan and a $2 tart pan I got from the thrift store. Recipe here, I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla.

For Saturday dinner we ate out because it was too late to cook. We went to Old Town Sushi again because I wanted salmon. We over ordered by accident (combo was bigger than we thought) so I had leftovers for lunch the next day.

dragon roll: crab salad (again) with shrimp tempura plus eel, masago, and avocado on the outside

beef teriyaki + dragon roll combo

lion king roll: baked salmon roll with crab salad inside

The rolls were okay but had that crab salad crap again. Next time I will get raw sushi and not these elaborate high calorie rolls. I wonder if they have any fancy rolls without that crab salad. The salmon was cooked perfectly and tasted great. I wish the roll wasn’t drowning in sauce though. The beef teriyaki wasn’t great, the beef was cooked well with a pink middle but it wasn’t marinated or cooked in the teriyaki sauce so it had little flavor. The sauce itself was gluey like it was cornstarch based and had very little flavor. It came with a tiny portion of seaweed salad though, yum. Combo also came with miso soup and salad and we got free edamame again. It’s funny how they give out free edamame but other restaurants charge $3-4 for it.

One Response to “More food”

  1. Karu June 8, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Hahaha Looove the Ghetto Rolling Pin. That made my day 🙂
    I think I’m going thru a baking phase, so thanks for the recipe! I have some strawberries I need to use too…

Leave a Reply

