A Day in SF

30 May

We met up with my cousin and her husband in the Ferry Building Farmer’s Market yesterday. They were road tripping all the way down the California Coast from Vancouver! It was a gorgeous day and we walked around the market sampling all the fresh fruits and other tasty goodies. We had an almond croissant for a snack because I was craving the one from Tartine (this one did not even compare). I ended up with some peaches, nectarines and apricots. All were really sweet and tasty but produce here is pricey. I got 2 nectarines for $2.. geez.

No pictures of the farmer’s market because it was crowded and too hot and overwhelming to bother to take pictures. I thought I had pictures from last year to fall back on but I must have not taken pictures last time either. Oops, sorry!

After grabbing lunch from various booths in the Ferry Building, we went drove over to the Golden Gate Park since it was such a nice day out. We strolled around the Botanical Garden (because it was free) but there were no flowers left. So instead, I took pictures of “wildlife”.

squirrel eating on the steps

duck watching the paddle boats

The park was nice and relaxing but we were getting tired so we went to Japantown where I did some shopping at Ichibankan for my bento swap. I thought there was a Daiso there too but we didn’t see it. I didn’t manage to get a bento box though and didn’t get a chance to visit all the kitchen supply stores I wanted to. The area was pretty empty for such a nice day though, I guess tourists really don’t go here even though it’s a great place to explore.

Brian relaxing in the sun

gorgeous carving of dancers

We did find Sophie’s Crepes, which was recommended to us by a friend of Brian’s. If you’re in the area, this is a great hidden treat. You have to go into the mall and cross the pedestrian bridge to find this.

green tea gelato, red bean paste and maccha sauce

I had already took a few bites before I remembered to take a picture for you guys. It’s made fresh to order so I didn’t want it to get soggy. The crepe was crisp, had a nice chew and tasted great! We ordered the Japanese flavored one which had green tea gelato (more like ice cream), red bean paste, and maccha sauce. You can watch them make these at the window; they have a really interesting folding technique. So delicious, the only part that got soggy was the very bottom but it still tasted great.

the cute cone, I wish they had one of these in NYC!

Not much happening for us this Memorial Day weekend. I really want to go shopping but we’ll see if that happens. I want a not too heavy cross-body bag, any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

