Happy Mother’s Day!

10 May

I cooked mango nutella crepes for my mom this morning. This was my first time making crepes but they came out really tasty. Only bad thing was that my mom wanted to wait until everyone got one to eat so they were not crispy. They’re meant to be eaten right out of the pan. Anyway, it was delicious!! Super easy too because you mix the batter the night before.

crepes with nutella, mango and fresh whipped cream

I followed the crepe recipe from Mike’s Table but left out the zest by accident. Only killed one crepe by flipping too soon (it ripped) then my dad was helping and killed two more.. haha. Spread the Nutella on once it’s flipped and add mangoes.  The mangoes were Champagne mangoes that are on sale now. Top with more mangoes, freshly whipped cream and shredded sweetened coconut.

We also had biscuits (Grand’s) with strawberry jam and faux sausage patties (Gimme Lean). I usually would scramble some eggs too to go with sausage but we had eggs for breakfast yesterday.

mother's day breakfast

For dinner I made Kabocha Squash Lasagna, a vegetarian dish. I followed this recipe by Gavan Murphy. It came out really nice and satisfying. Make sure you add salt and pepper to the veggies and the ricotta mixture and taste. Mine was a tiny but under salted. We also had steak on the side.

kabocha squash lasagna

Mother’s day isn’t complete without a cake! I went for something simple and made Strawberry Cotton Cake by Life as an h4. What a simple recipe! I whipped it up in less than 15 minutes and it only baked for 30 minutes. Looked and tasted JUST like the Chinese bakery sponge cakes wrapped in paper (zi bao dang gou). I had no idea what cotton cake was but I trusted this blogger, she has great recipes. This recipe is also available in Chinese with more pictures (click on her cakes link). I left out the strawberry liquor (didn’t have) and added toasted coconut extract to the cream.

cotton cake with strawberries and coconut whipped cream

slice of yumminess

2 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. tofugirl May 10, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    That cake is just gorgeous. What a nice mother’s day!

  2. Faye May 11, 2010 at 2:57 am #

    You did amazing jobs! I want to make crepes too:)

Leave a Reply

