Greenery update

22 Apr

I felt like I haven’t updated in a long time! I’ve been so busy with school work that I completely abandoned all willpower to eat healthy.  Bento challenge-wise, this was a horrible month to do it. Hah! Not that May would have been better due to finals. I didn’t pack meals, cooking was haphazardous: throwing foods together just to have something to eat while struggling to finish assignments. I ran to class yesterday without dinner so I ended up having 3/4 of a scallion cream cheese sesame bagel, a big oatmeal raisin cookie (rip off at $2.25), a can of grass jelly drink, bowl of rice pudding and 2 bites of Chinese greens. Fail.

Gorgeous baby cilantro and basil

My baby plantlings are shooting up. I had to share pictures because they’re gorgeous. They’re starting to outgrow the tray so I really should transfer them soon but I’m so scared of the chilly nights killing them. I will at least move them to bigger pots today.

Green!

I’m moving to California for the summer. While I’m there, I won’t be able to care for these plants. That makes me sad. My mom will care for them and eat the produce but I don’t get to enjoy them. I wish I could bring them with me to Cali. You learn so much from doing things yourself. I’m going to miss out on learning how they look at different stages and how to prune these guys. Good thing about Cali is that there are literally farmers markets everywhere you turn, especially in SF. The Ferry Building Market is such an awesome place for foodies. Plus, when I move there, I’m going to sign up for a CSA! CSA = community shared agriculture if you’ve never heard of it before. Basically, you “subscribe” to a farm and get to pick up a box of fresh vegetables weekly or biweekly. You don’t get to choose which veggies because it’s whatever they picked for that week but it’s usually a good mix of stuff. So far, Two Small Farms seems like the most convenient choice. My only concern is finishing the box of veggies with only 2 people. We might have to find someone to share the box with. I’m so excited!!

bean stalk

And for fun, this is what Bella does when she goes outside. She doesn’t have her leash on but I was supervising and she seems to not want to run away.

One Response to “Greenery update”

  1. cindy April 25, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    omg kittehhhhh can’t handle the sunlight?

Leave a Reply

