Earth Day

22 Apr

I didn’t realize today was Earth Day because I was confused by Earth Week. Anyway, it doesn’t matter if today was Earth Day or if tomorrow is Earth Day because EVERYDAY should be Earth Day. Earth Day is one day to promote respect towards mother Earth and the creatures who live on this planet, including yourself. You should take this opportunity to reflect on how environmentally green you live your life. I am very aware of how I could be damaging our planet with my choices and behaviors. No one is perfect but I do try my best. We live in a world where convenience tops all and there is simply too much waste. Everything you buy comes with waste in the form of packaging and while that’s unavoidable, you can do your part by reusing and recycling.

Easy things I do to be more green that you can try too:

1. Always carry a reusable shopping back. Choose paper over plastic. Reuse plastic shopping bags for trash or pet waste.
2. Recycle! Paper, plastic, metal, electronics, batteries..
3. Reduce:use less of everything if you can. If you don’t need to print the document, don’t. I hate printing out stuff when I can just read it on my computer. Granted, that’s probably why my eyes are so bad..
4. Reuse, Reuse, Reuse! I save plastic containers to store odds and ends, grow my plants in (see previous post), etc. Check if the plastic is safe to reuse for food, some are not. I even save soap free water used to rinse not so dirty dishes to water my plants. When things are at the end of their life, recycle. If something is perfectly usable, donate it or post it on Freecycle instead of dumping it in the trash.
5. Along with use less of everything: take shorter showers, retro-fit your toilet to be low flush.
6. I always carry my own BPA free water bottle. I recommend Thermos Intak. Super leak proof and no funky smells or tastes. I stopped buying water bottles.
7. Use bento boxes and pack your own food. Saves you from all the fat and salt from restaurant foods anyway. Laptop lunch boxes are great systems and are convenient.
8. Grow your own food! Eat less meat! If you don’t know about how damaging the agriculture and meat industry is to the Earth and animals, read Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan or The Ethics of What We Eat by Peter Singer and Jim Mason or just watch Food Inc.! You will be shocked by the truth.
9. Use energy efficient light bulbs.
10. Unplug electronics you don’t use on a daily basis.
11. Buy less stuff. Earth day has turned into a giant commercial holiday. Don’t be sucked into buying a brand new “green” item unless you will really use it and it is truly green (made from recycled products). Otherwise, you are just allowing companies to create more waste.
12. Get crafty, make stuff instead of buying it. Need a grocery bag? There are tons of tutorials online to help you make one. Check out Instructables. Join the DIY movement.

Make the world less of a place where birds die with plastic filled stomachs or oceans have islands of floating garbage and more of a place where you can preserve this and this.

If you have more ideas to share, post a comment. Thanks for listening. Spread the word.

2 Responses to “Earth Day”

  1. fattydumpling April 24, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Wow, I think that your list is pretty thorough. Another suggestion is to sustain yourself and enjoy what the natural environment has to offer? I don’t think people need to go as far as to farm their own foodstuff, ahah, but last night, I went out to eat, then went to the mall afterwards. My friend made the comment that the restaurant should be blasting the AC. I realized then that instead of going out to go indoors, I could have eaten at home and played somewhere else, like a park, instead of indulging in our materialistic side. Granted, we were taking a break from cooking, wanted to eat some ice cream, and I wanted to get a book, but it’s nice to have the option to do otherwise ;]

    Ah, my house mate takes re-using bags to the extreme, ahah. You know those little baggies that milk comes in? We wash them out to reuse them. Then wash them again after using them. We have about a kabjillion now. Really, we do.

    You know, I want to try a cream cheese and scallion bagel now.

    • eula April 25, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

      lol, are you from Canada? i’ve only heard of milk in bags from Canadians. =) How do you reuse them? Sounds more sustainable than plastic milk cartons.. there are a lot of ideas on reusing them but we just recycle them.

      You’re right, growing food is pretty extreme for everyone. I do it because it’s fun and it saves money. Of course, there’s not enough food to sustain ourselves but it helps our diet to supplement fresh veggies that we grew ourselves.

      I’m glad you commented, it’s interesting to hear what other people are doing. =) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

