Yaki Soba

7 Apr

Yaki soba, aka Japanese stir-fried noodles, is a yummy dish that’s quick and filling. You can grab a whatever veggies you have in the fridge, chop them into pieces and use them in this dish. I think cabbage is typical. This time I used cabbage, baby carrots, baby sweet peppers and scallion. I like it with onions and regular carrots too. If you want some protein, fry an egg or cook some chopped meat marinated in a bit of soy sauce. Anything goes. Keep reading for a pseudo recipe.

My kind of fast food.

For the noodle, you can buy fresh yaki soba but I don’t always have that on hand so I use dry packaged ramen noodles. This time I used a Korean brand udon style noodle. Boil the noodles for 1 or 2 minutes, drain and place onto a large hot pan. Sesame oil works well here. Let it sit until the bottom side turns slightly brown, flip over and move it over to side of the pan. Add more sesame oil and chopped veggies/protein to the pan.

Meanwhile, make sauce: 1 Tbsp oyster sauce, 1 tsp soy sauce, 1 tsp sake (or water). When veggies are slightly tender, mix with noodles and add sauce. Stir until well mixed and hot. Serve immediately. Makes 1 serving.

Bento Challenge update:

Not such a good day challenge wise because I ate strangely today. I blame it on stressing out about the exam I had tonight (it went fine).  Breakfast was a slice of apple pie! Lunch was yaki soba. Small iced coffee during the exam. Dinner was shrimp and veggie tempura donburi and 2 donut holes. It wasn’t too much food but not too healthy. Broke some challenge goals: bought junk food (a big bag of donut holes.. they weren’t that good either) and didn’t pack a bento when I could have. Granted, I spent that time studying and making lunch.. excuses. Didn’t eat after 9pm though so that’s good. Let’s see how I do tomorrow.

One Response to “Yaki Soba”

  1. dragonlife April 13, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    Dear Eula!
    Greetings!
    Yaki soba is such a ppular staple food in Japan!
    Actually, Fujinomiya City in our prefecture, Shizuoka, is supposed to make the best in Japan!
    I ran a posting on the basic recipe recently!
    Thank you so much for visiting and commenting!
    All the best!
    Robert-Gilles

    http://shizuokagourmet.wordpress.com/
    (in case WordPress takes you to my Fantasy Novel blog!)

Leave a Reply

