Seedlings

27 Mar

I decided to try and plant seeds this year considering I’ve been amassing a bunch of seeds from swaps and from last years bounty. I know NOTHING about starting from seeds because I bought baby plants for the the last two years I’ve had my garden. I’m trying to read up online about it but there’s so much information out there that I’m not sure what to do. I’m afraid I may have planted too early, especially for tomatoes, since the danger of frost is still possible by transfer time (late April/early May?)

seedlings materials
Materials minus the seeds from Indoor Outdoor Gardener near me. 50 pot tray, hole-less bottom tray, cover, and seed starter was $11.62.

watering
Wetting the mix. People recommend bottom watering? No idea if it’ll work with seeds considering they don’t have roots yet. It’s meant to protect the leaves/stems from excess dampness. I will switch once they appear.

seedlings planted
Set-up completed for the time being. I read that seeds need the soil to be warm for best results. If I had my rope lights from college instead of selling it at a yard sale I would have the perfect warming mechanism!!! Grr!! Why did I do that?! I will see if I can set up some lights above it since I have nowhere indoors that has enough sunlight for these guys.

I also never tested the germination capabilities so I have no idea if the seeds will even grow. I planted a lot of tomatoes (big and small), peppers (oh crap.. just realized they were bell peppers, not jalapenos like I wanted!), eggplant, sunflowers (my brother’s request), cucumbers, beans, a lot of basil, thyme, cilantro, parsley, chives, marigolds (to keep mosquitoes away), and other stuff I can’t remember right now. So, we’ll see what happens! Hopefully I’m not doomed to failure. At least everything I bought is re-usable. Follow along! Give me advice!

Leave a Reply

