Nutella Macarons

15 Mar

Recipe and instructions from Baking Bites.

macrons filled

This is my second attempt at macarons. The first time I made it with almond meal purchased at Trader Joe’s. They came out okay but they had a big air pocket inside and didn’t rise very tall. I didn’t even bother filling them. That was the French macaron recipe by Tartlette.  Google “Tartlette macaron tutorial” for the pdf. This time I used the more difficult Italian meringue recipe and they came out much better with more of a cookie than air. The recipes are very different from each other so I haven’t decided which is better. I ground my own hazelnuts (~$4) with a coffee grinder because hazelnut meal was $12 a bag. I had four trays with one tray being completely ruined by being placed on a bottom rack at 335 degrees. I kept messing around with temperatures and timing. I think they come out best in my oven at 325 degrees for 13 minutes.

macarons cracked
The horror!!! The disappointment!! Why are these cookies so hard to make?!

macaron shells
Finally, the last tray that came out had perfect tops and feet.

macaron stack
Filled with nutella buttercream.

Nutella Buttercream

1/2 cup butter at room temperature (1 stick)
1/2 cup nutella
1 1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1. Cream the butter using an electric mixer.
2. Blend in the nutella and vanilla extract.
3. Add the powdered sugar and mix until smooth.
(If it’s too thick, thin out with milk one teaspoon at time. If too thin, add more confectioner’s sugar).

open macaron
Om nom nom. So good. You can still see an air pocket.. don’t know what I did wrong.

One Response to “Nutella Macarons”

  1. me September 17, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    Very good! I had the same problem. It took me 8 tries to get them right lol I still think that I can do better though. I am going to try top make the rose flavored ones this weekend. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

