Hiyashi Chuka – Japanese Noodle Salad

11 Mar

Spring is coming! The weather in NY has been warming up and sunny days are a motivation to eat healthier and exercising outdoors. I went for a jog today.. I am so out of shape I barely got anywhere. So I went home and made lunch. haha.

Hiyashi chuka is a cold dish served in the summer. It’s normally made with chukamen which is raw ramen noodles (not the instant kind) but I didn’t have that on hand so I used rice stick noodles. I topped it with lots of fresh veggies, some protein and finished it off with flavor boosts from scallion and sesame seeds.

Hiyashi chuka close up

Toppings: English cucumber, corn, baby carrots, shredded chicken, egg strips, red pepper, shredded nori, scallion, sesame seeds.

Dressing: 1/3 cup water / 3 Tbsp rice vinegar / 2 Tbsp soy sauce / 3 Tbsp sugar / 1 tsp sesame oil (serves 4).

Hiyashi chuka

Delicious and good for you! Eating a variety of colors in vegetable form gives you lots of nutrients. Cooking with Dog has a video on how to make another version of this dish. Watch it to learn how to make the egg strips.

13 Responses to “Hiyashi Chuka – Japanese Noodle Salad”

  1. saryfapinuji.wordpress.com February 27, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Hello everyone, it’s my first visit at this web page, and post is truly fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these articles or reviews.

  2. african safari March 6, 2013 at 7:14 am #

    I am starting up a new internet website directory and was wanting to know if
    I can submit your site? I’m trying to mature my directory slowly by hand so that it retains quality. I will make sure and put your website in the best category and I’ll
    also use, “Hiyashi Chuka” as your anchor text. Please let me know if this is acceptable with
    you by mailing me. Thank you

  3. Tod March 8, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

    Thanks for your excellent posting!
    I quite enjoyed reading it, you may be a great article writer.
    Keep up with the good posts, have a nice day!

  4. Ghanaweb.Com April 17, 2013 at 1:41 am #

    Paragraph writing is also a fun, if you be acquainted with afterward you can write if not it
    is difficult to write.

  5. Uta April 21, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Bleak! Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!
    My partner and I often write guest articles or blog posts for other blog owners to help increase exposure to our work, as well as provide wonderful content to site owners. It truly is a win win situation! If you happen to be interested feel free to contact me so we can talk further. Many thanks!

  6. Alejandrina May 2, 2013 at 6:39 am #

    Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace
    group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

  7. low testosterone May 13, 2013 at 6:23 am #

    This is my first time visit at here and i am in fact happy to read all
    at single place.

  8. Jude June 9, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    Quality articles is the key to attract the visitors to
    pay a visit the website, that’s what this web page is providing.

  9. http://howtolosebellyfat.lo.gs June 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    You’re so cool! I do not suppose I have read through something like this before. So nice to find somebody with original thoughts on this subject matter. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that is required on the web, someone with some originality!

  10. http://schuesslerinfos.bravesites.com June 22, 2013 at 4:58 am #

    Huhu! Ich bin wirklich erstaunt wegen diesem Bericht.
    Dafür möchte ich mich wirklich bedanken! Sehe ich es denn richtig, dass
    das Geschriebene hier immer noch das Aktuelle widerspiegelt?

    Oder ist dies jetzt veraltet? Wenn dem so ist, dann würde ich das sehr gerne mitbekommen, wenn das gehen würde.
    Ganz netten Dank schonmal!

  11. There is definately a great deal to find out about
    this issue. I really like all of the points you have made.

  12. vitamin c supplement August 2, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    Fantastic website. Lots of helpful info here. I am sending it to several
    friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you to your sweat!

  13. http://blenderartists.org September 22, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    Thanks for another great article. Where else could anybody get that
    type of information in such a perfect means of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I am at the look for such information.

Leave a Reply

