Taiyaki <fish waffles)<

4 Mar

taiyaki waffle
Taiyaki made with waffle batter.

My taiyaki pan finally arrived!! It took a week to get to me. Shipping was a ridiculous flat $10 for such a small pan. I got it off ebay from California. If someone knows where to find one in NYC please let me know for future reference. I searched all over Chinatown with no luck. I DID find a takoyaki pan for $12 at a restaurant supply on Bowery St. which is a lot cheaper than Kam Man on Canal St. Takoyaki =/= taiyaki. Too bad.

taiyaki in pan
The pan looks big but it’s actually not that big.

I tried two recipes. The first recipe was from Cooking with Dog on Youtube. I love those videos! I’ve never had real taiyaki except for the chibi-taiyaki from Sweet Breams in San Mateo, CA so I’m not sure what to look for. The batter from Cooking with Dog’s recipe is not that sweet which compliments the sweet store bought red bean paste inside. I actually messed up and did 100g of water instead of 100ml. The second batter was a simple waffle batter that had milk, oil, all purpose flour, a lot more baking powder and required whipping egg whites to fold into the batter. More work, more fat and actually didn’t taste as good as the Japanese recipe. I did half nutella and half red bean paste in this batch. If you can find red bean paste that’s in the pouch, I recommend that over the can. It tastes sweeter and is mashed not pureed so it’s more authentic. Or you can make your own.

taiyaki cropped
From the Japanese recipe.

I still have to work on cooking it properly to get it to crisp up without burning. Next experiment will be the recipe below with all purpose flour instead of cake flour and the correct amount of water.

taiyaki nutella
Waffle batter with nutella.

Taiyaki Batter

by Cooking with Dog

Ingredients:
100g Cake Flour (3.53 oz)
2/3 tsp Baking Soda
2 tbsp Sugar
1/2 Egg (30g/1.06 oz)
100ml Water (3.38 fl oz)

Directions:
1. Sift together flour, baking soda and sugar in a large bowl.
2. Whisk together egg and water.
3. Make a well in the flour and slowly pour in egg and water while whisking outwards to incorporate all the flour. This will prevent lumps.

6 Responses to “Taiyaki <fish waffles)<”

  1. Patty March 5, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    nutella in taiyaki?! you have me sold 🙂

    • eula March 6, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

      thanks! hope your trip to boston was good!

  2. bentoboutique March 7, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    Your photo reminded me instantly of similar fish waffles I had when I was a little girl living in Korea. I will have to try out the recipe once I can get my hands on one of those pans.

  3. ANNA Vu April 17, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    Where only part i buy ?

  4. John Babcock October 15, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    I found a takiyaki pan at Sunshine Mart on 3rd and 9th in the East Village. I believe that Pearl River on Broadway just north of Canal also carries this pan. Finally, Mitusawa Market in NJ (I think there is a shuttle bus from Port Authority) carries it too. Thanks for the recipe as I am looking forward to trying it!

  5. Dorothy November 10, 2012 at 2:28 am #

    Hi I’ve been trying to find the pan, do you know which store it was on Bowery?

Leave a Reply

