Olympic Mascot Mukmuk Bento

2 Mar

I was inspired by hapa bento’s Olympic mascot Miga Bento so I set out to make my own. Mukmuk is my favorite mascot closely followed by Sumi. I chose Mukmuk mainly because he seemed easy to re-create. This was my first charaben (character bento) so I’m pretty proud of how well it came out.

mukmuk bento

Mukmuk’s body is made of yaki onigiri or soy sauce grilled rice ball. His hat is cheddar and mozzarella cheese (dyed blue). His face is more cheese and hand cut nori. His belly is wheat germ because I didn’t know what else to put. Underneath him is a layer of roast pork and onion egg scramble and he’s surrounded by broccoli, carrots and red pepper flowers. A well rounded, delicious meal.

mukmuk bento2

I hope you like it!

4 Responses to “Olympic Mascot Mukmuk Bento”

  1. hapabento March 2, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    OMG! So cute! I think Mukmuk is my favorite mascot because he is the smallest and cutest! Good job on this guy!

  2. tofugi March 3, 2010 at 12:02 am #

    Oh my gosh that is the BEST!!!! I wish I was patient enough to do this kind of bento! I’ll have to settle for just putting my Mukmuk doll in my photos…hehe. Thanks for stopping by my flickr, btw!

  3. Lia Chen March 4, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Wow! This is so cute! I like the colors for this Charaben bento … (^.^)

  4. Jamie May 27, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Delightful and delicious!

Leave a Reply

