Cake for Dad

10 Feb

My dad’s birthday was yesterday so I baked him a cake. He’s really picky and doesn’t like many ingredients like cinnamon and strawberries. I tend not to like chocolate baked goods so I rarely bake chocolate cakes. I settled on a white cake that used only 1/2 cup butter, instant vanilla pudding with white chocolate shavings for the filling, and “fat-free” 7-minute frosting. Since I did a lot of baking this weekend, I really wanted to keep the butter consumption down.. this was the 5th stick of butter. The frosting is butter free and therefore “fat-free” but don’t be mistaken that it’s not fattening because excess calories from carbohydrates (sugar) is still converted to fat. I used the seeds from half a vanilla bean in the cake as well as a splash of real vanilla extract. Overall, the cake was a bit dry due to the lack of butter but it the fluffy marshmallowy frosting complemented the cake well. I should really avoid instant puddings.. too artificial for my tastes. Next time I should plan ahead better and find a better filling. The marzipan fruit were purchased from The Sweet Life, which is near my grandmother’s apartment.. nostalgia!

dad cake

I halved this recipe because I knew it would make too much. It was just enough to frost (not fill) a 9″ cake.

Double Boiler (7 Minute) Frosting from Betty Crocker

2 egg whites (1/4 cup)
1-1/2 cups sugar
1/4 tsp cream of tartar or 1 tbsp light corn syrup
1/3 cup water
1 tsp vanilla

Combine egg whites, sugar, cream of tartar and water in top of double boiler. Beat on high speed 1 minute with electric mixer. Place over boiling water (water should not touch bottom of pan); beat on high speed 7 minutes. Remove pan from boiling water; add vanilla. Beat 2 minutes longer on high speed.

Fills and frosts two 8- or 9-inch layers or frosts a 13×9-inch cake.

dad cake slice

Leave a Reply

