Jap chae/Korean noodles (Bento 9)

6 Feb

Laptop lunch for dinner at work. I made jap chae after Wendy threw the surprise party with Korean food. I think hers tasted better but this was my first time making it so now I know how to improve my methods.

bento 9

Jap chae, salad, red pepper, cucumber, goddess dressing, avocado and tomato “guac” (which got really brown and gross – didn’t end up eating this), and dove dark chocolate.

I asked Wendy for her recipe and she pointed me to Maangchi. I basically followed that recipe but approximated the vegetable amounts. Some tips from what I’ve learned: add salt to taste because the recipe didn’t call for salt but I feel like it needed it; don’t skip the step where she adds soy sauce to the spinach because my spinach was bland; definitely marinate the beef beforehand (soy sauce, sesame oil, cooking wine, sugar), overnight is best; and don’t forget the green onions like I did. Otherwise, quite a delicious and flavorful dish.

Leave a Reply

