Girl’s night out + bday gift!

24 Jan

My girl cousins in NYC decided to gather and do dinner together so we headed out into the city Friday night after work/classes. We were aiming for Inoteca for some Italian panini sandwiches but the wait was 1 hour so we went over to Essex instead since they had tables. I think our waitress must have hated us because we sat there for what seemed like hours just chatting and talking about our love lives without ordering a ton of appetizers and drinks buuuut it was a great night out. They wouldn’t let me pay because my birthday was coming up. I had the lamb chops with ricotta gnocchi and spinach which was cooked very well and tasted delish. Other dishes at the table included seafood pasta, mussels belgian style (their sweet potato fries were mushy), blackened fish, and duck breast (I love duck). Dessert menu was very unoriginal so we skipped on that.

girls night out lamb

I kept forgetting to take pictures all night so this is after I ate some already.

Afterwards, we migrated to Ferrara in Little Italy for desserts. We went to the smaller (less famous?) one because we knew they had seats. The carrot cake and tiramisu cake were really good. Other people got canoli and cheesecake but I didn’t taste. Almond cappuccino was also good but was not sweet after eating cake so don’t order them together. Each item was ~$5.. including the cappuccino!

girls night out carrot

Carrot cake.

girls night out tiramisu

Tiramisu cake.

girls night out coffee

Almond Cappuccino.

My sister and brother got me the laptop lunchbox!!! Version 2!! I’ve been pining for one for ages but couldn’t bring myself to spend $30 on a lunchbox. It’s bigger than I imaged but I’m so excited to start packing meals in it. =D Thanks Cindy and Jason! I wonder if people will find me weird if I bring that to school.

laptop lunchbox

Laptop lunchbox!!

No bento on Saturday because I went home late, slept late and had work very early. Plus, I usually have lunch with a friend and dinner at home on Saturdays. Maybe I should pack a healthy snack box instead of sucking on a bubble tea all day. Not bringing food usually means unhealthy food as demonstrated by today: hawaiian fried rice (halal style so kinda greasy) and mango bubble tea.

Leave a Reply

