Apple Popovers and Chicken and Dumplings!

23 Oct

Yum Yum Yum. Both these dishes were quite yummy.

Apple popover-4879

I found another recipe I wanted to try using the ramekins. The recipe can be found here and was called Apple Souffle but these are not souffles, the texture is more like popovers. I was dubious if the recipe would actually work because there was no rising agent except for eggs but as they were cooking they popped up like popovers and then I realized what they really were! The only change I made was to add ~2 tsp granulated sugar to the batter to ensure it came out sweet. I made one of these without cinnamon because my dad dislikes cinnamon. And we didn’t eat them with extra sugar or maple syrup because I forgot about that step. They were good anyway.

The one in the back actually tipped over because it had the least batter. Apple popover-4878

The recipe is very easy. I highly recommend it but cook it right before you want to eat it because they deflated A LOT. These pretty popped up pictures are all right out of the oven.

Close up of the cinnamon-less one.
Apple popover-4881

The chicken and dumplings were made based on this recipe from allrecipes.com. I used about a pound of boneless, skinless chicken thighs. Instead of cream of chicken, I used cream of mushroom. And I used 1 can of milk and half a can of chicken stock just because I didn’t have enough stock (I used the can as a measure). In addition to the onion and celery, I added some frozen mixed veggies (carrot, peas, and corn) and left out the celery seed because I don’t own any.

Very filling! Makes five very big bowls.
Chicken and Dumplings-4885

One Response to “Apple Popovers and Chicken and Dumplings!”

  1. cindy October 24, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    where’s MY popover??!??!??!?!?!??!?!

Leave a Reply

