Fish Tank update

20 Oct

I finally added fish. I bought three neon tetras because they’re so bright looking. I was thinking that I would get some cherry barbs at the time but now that is no longer an option. I realized that my poor Twitchy (the betta fish I had in a small tank) was freezing in his heaterless tank. I decided to save him by putting him in the big heated tank but bettas don’t do well with neon tetras – the betta’s fins will get bitten. Discovered that my local fish store, petland discounts, sells tank dividers for $12! So I did some research and found a really cheap DIY divider using plastic mesh sheets that I already had and some report cover binding things from the 99cents store (you can also find them at office stores like staples). Here are some pictures.

Supplies: plastic mesh sheet, report cover binding pieces, ruler, sissors
divider supplies

After measuring and cutting.
divider

In the tank. The tetras are on the left and Twitchy is on the right. He’s hard to see.. kinda dark blue color in the back corner.
tank new

One of my neon tetras in her shot glass cave.
neon tetra

Edit:
My dad found an old rectangular lamp in the basement. It happens to fit my tank! SCORE! He tried to remove the base but it wasn’t possible because it had a transformer embedded inside so he extended the wires. The base rests on the stand below now. Perfect.
tank light

2 Responses to “Fish Tank update”

  1. cindy October 22, 2008 at 10:28 pm #

    wow, that’s a very cool mod to the fishtank. it looks like it cost a lot. yay cheap stuff!!!

  2. lisa October 23, 2008 at 12:36 am #

    meow! yumm.. fish.

    XD

    kidding.

Leave a Reply

