Nobu’s Miso Black Cod

17 Oct

I was lucky enough to experience Nobu in TriBeCa because my ex-roomie, Amanda and her friend, Wayne, was visiting for fall break. What a great restaurant – the food was incredible.

We went for the $70 omakase/chef’s special which turns out to be really worth it. Unfortunately, I felt silly taking pictures of everything we ate.. so there are no pictures. I couldn’t remember every detail of what we had but here’s what I found on their menu that kinda fits what we ate.

– Fish tartar (yellowtail?) with caviar in wasabi soy sauce with a japanese berry to cleanse our palate (22) – the wasabi sauce was almost too spicy near the end but the berry went really well with the dish
– Yellowtail sashimi microgreens salad with matsuhisa dressing (20) – the sashimi was delicious
– Squid pasta with asparagus, shitake mushrooms in garlic butter sauce (19)  – I loved this dish, the squid is cut so it curls and resembles penne and was super tender, the flavor was amazing
– Black cod with miso and pickled ginger scallion (25) – the fish was cooked perfectly with the skin perfectly crispy, I did not like the pickled ginger scallion
– Tuna, yellowtail, salmon, Japanese red snapper, and mackerel sashimi + Miso soup (28) – their sushi is nothing special, I was too full to finish the miso soup (not a big fan) but it had tofu in it.. which I forgot to eat..
– Bento box dessert: warm valrhona chocolate soufflé cake, shiso syrup, white chocolate sauce and green tea ice cream (9) – not impressed because I’m not a chocolate cake fan, the green tea ice cream was good but you can get that anywhere.. the box was cute, reminded Amanda of a doggy dish.. haha

So if you add up all those prices I got from the menu, the total would have been $123, so the $70 a person was actually a good deal. Amanda and Wayne were nice enough to treat me because they were staying at my place. =D They’re so nice!

I went home and for some reason that I can’t remember anymore I looked for the black cod with miso recipe. Surprisingly, I found it! Turns out Nobu has several cookbooks and this recipe has been circulating the web for some time since he shared it on a TV show. Of course, I had to try it so I went and bought cod, mirin and sake since I didn’t have those in my pantry.

miso cod

Here’s the recipe and here is another person’s take on it. I kinda roughly halved the official recipe since we wouldn’t finish that much fish and I like to approximate things. So I used a pound of cod, 1/2 cup sake, 1/2 cup mirin, 1/3 cup sugar, and almost a cup of miso paste. Since this was a test run, I marinated the fish for only a day, pan fried it and finished it in the toaster oven. I overcooked it by like 5 minutes (my mom kept insisting it wasn’t done), it only needed like 10 minutes in my 400F toaster oven.

The meal went really well with an apple sake (apple juice and sake) and salad with Tonton Ginger dressing (available in costco).

miso cod sakeThe sake bottle, cod, and apple sake drink.

Don’t try to microwave the extra sauce saved for garnish.. it burned horribly and melted the plastic ikea container. Oops.. cooking fail.

miso sauce messup

One Response to “Nobu’s Miso Black Cod”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shochu - a blog with hangover » Nobu’s Miso Black Cod - October 22, 2008

    […] The sake bottle, cod, and apple sake drink…. Go to Source […]

Leave a Reply

