Bunch of foods

12 Sep

Wow, I feel like it’s been a while since I last posted. We have an abundance of food in the fridge which prevents me from making stuff I want to make. Instead my mom cooks because those are mostly her groceries. =(

I meant to post something about Sept. 11 yesterday but I really didn’t want to think about it. By the time I realized I should post something anyway, it was past midnight.

Cindy got a free cookbook for recycling paper and stuff at Columbia. It’s called Food to Live By and it’s the Earthbound Farm Organic Cookbook by Myra Goodman. Looks great and is very informative about organic foods. Great looking recipes with photos, tips, and a story behind each one. The layout reminds me of a textbook because there’s so much stuff packed into it. The recipes mainly use common ingredients which is great but many recipes make large dishes which is great for large families but not for us. I guess if you live on a farm, abundance of fresh produce is not a problem. I’ve already bookmarked five recipes I want to try.

Here are some foods I’ve made recently. Most of it was for Cindy to bring to back to her dorm since she has no kitchen. Hopefully it freezes and microwaves up okay. The french onion soup was for dinner last night.

Baked Spring Rolls
spring rolls

Ingredients:

~36 Square spring roll wrappers (smaller size)
2 cups mung bean sprouts
2 cups napa cabbage, chopped
1/2 scallion bunches, chopped (~1/2 cup)
5 dried shitake mushrooms, rehydrated and chopped (~1/2 cup)
1 large garlic, minced (~1 Tbsp)
1 egg
Shrimp, shelled, de-veined, chopped (I used 11 shrimp or ~1/2 cup) – optional, more = more flavor
Salt, Pepper, a few dashes of soy sauce

Directions:
1. Mix all ingredients except wrappers.
2. Place wrapper with corner facing you.
3. Place ~ 1 Tbsp filling at corner facing you. Roll corner towards the center of wrapper. Fold in the two side corners. Continue rolling to the end in the direction moving away from you.
4. Brush baking sheets with oil. Place spring rolls on baking sheets. Brush with oil and bake at 350F until crispy, around 20-30 minutes. May need to turn on broiler to get it to brown.

These are kind of bland. Add more soy sauce, shrimp or other flavoring (like ginger) for more taste.

Pajun – Korean Pancake Version 2
pajun new

I made pajun again but this time I doubled the recipe and used less water. I used 3 cups AP flour, 1 cup rice flour and only 3 cups of cold water instead of 4 cups to make it thicker. This version has faux crab meat, scallions and scallops. Yummier than last time though still needs more flavor. =( I seem to have a problem seasoning food.

Sushi
sushi square

Same old sushi as usual but I tried wrapping it differently. This one has spiced ham, faux crab meat and avocado. The regular rolls had spiced ham, faux crab meat, avocado, cucumber, carrots and pickled daikon.

French Onion Soup
french onion soup

Recipe from Rachel Ray magazine Oct. 2008 issue.
Ingredients:
2 large sweet onions, thinly sliced
1 cup dry red wine
Two 14.5 oz cans beef broth
One 5 oz bag seasoned croutons (~2 cups)
4 thick slices Swiss cheese
olive oil
pepper

Directions:
In deep skillet, heat 2 Tbsp olive oil over med. heat. Add onions and cook until translucent and softened, about 15 mins. Add wine and bring to a boil. Pour in beef broth, lower heat and simmer for 10 minutes; season with pepper. Preheat the broiler. Divide soup up into four oven proof bowls, top each with 1/4 of the croutons and a slice of cheese. Set bowls onto a rimmed baking sheet and broil until cheese is bubbly and golden, about 1 minute.

Comments: I used beef bouillon cubes because I didn’t have beef broth. I think beef broth is essential, the cubes just don’t provide enough flavor and depth. I used only 3/4 cup wine but it was too much, the wine flavor was too strong. Next time I will use only 1/2 cup. I made my own croutons out of old Italian bread I had in the fridge with some olive oil, garlic and onion powders and Italian seasoning. Easy recipe and tasty.

One Response to “Bunch of foods”

  1. cindy September 12, 2008 at 9:21 pm #

    pajun was muy soggy!!

Leave a Reply

