Red Bean and Green Tea Madeleines!

7 Sep

Something I’m pretty proud of. They came out perfectly! Much better than the first regular batch of madeleines I posted before. The regular batch I made last time kinda went crappy overnight and got all dense and rubbery. I guess I may have overmixed it. I also don’t like how it uses so much butter.

madeleines red_green2

This recipe is so much yummier! I used the recipe from Eatyet’s blog and it was so much easier than the other recipe. More forgiving too. I could NOT find almond flour or red bean flour in my asian grocery which kinda made me mad because they have so much stuff usually. So I blended my own almond flour and red bean flour using a coffee grinder. Gave the cookie so much nice texture. I’m guessing this is not a traditional madeleine cookie but it tasted so good!

Alterations to the recipe: added 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter. For red bean, I used 3 tsp of red bean flour instead of 2 tsp and added some red food coloring because the powder was not that red. Since I overfilled some of the molds, I had to bake an extra 5-10 minutes for it to brown. Made 20 cookies but probably could have made 24 if I didn’t overfill them.

madeleines red_green
I seriously have to make these again.

2 Responses to “Red Bean and Green Tea Madeleines!”

  1. cindy September 7, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    they came out perfectly?? more like diseased!! the colors!! ahhh!!

    i have fruit, yay

  2. eula September 8, 2008 at 8:39 pm #

    lol. I won’t add food coloring next time.. but the green tea ones are naturally green.. hahaha

Leave a Reply

