My First Madelines

31 Aug

I finally bought a madeleine pan after scrounging online for a few days. The online ones were a bit too expensive for me but luckily I found one in a super cool store near Columbia University while visiting my sister. The store had everything kitchen related you could possibly want (seriously) and a lot of other stuff for your home too. My pan was only $16. It’s not nonstick but I didn’t want nonstick because I read that those brown to easily making the cookie look dark. (Plus those are more expensive.)

madelines tray

I used this recipe from 101 Cookbooks site. What a great site, another one to add to my blogroll. There’s also a bunch at Eatyet’s blog but I didn’t have all the ingredients for those.

I only got about 1.5 dozen out of this recipe.. not the 2-3 dozen it’s supposed to make. The cookie also tasted very eggy. Don’t know if that’s the recipe’s fault or if that was my fault somehow. Will have to try other recipes to see which one works best with me.

madeleines rack

With powdered sugar sprinkled on top.
madelines

One Response to “My First Madelines”

  1. cindy August 31, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    the pictures are so gray 😦
    but they look nice. except for the extra bit on the edges.

Leave a Reply

