Ventures into Stamp Making

23 Jul

I’ve been seeing some great rubber stamps that people hand make on craftster.org. I decided to try it for myself. I scored on a pack of five jumbo white erasers for two bucks. They’re kinda soft so I had to be careful not to mis-cut my pieces. I only have an exacto knife to work with so not much flexibility or gouging power there. Since the jumbo eraseres were actually kind of small, I was limited to the size of the eraser. I used the acetone (nail polish remover) method. I printed the reveresed image out of a laser printer (not ink jet). You can also photocopy an image. Then I dipped the image in acetone and placed it face down on the eraser and rubbed gently. Not 100% effective, some parts went on very well while some parts didn’t transfer at all. Don’t know why.

Here’s what I made in the last two days.
Jiji the cat from Kiki’s Delivery Service. Part of the image didn’t transfer so I carved MEW but forgot to flip the letters. Oh well, still cute.
jiji mew stamp

Here’s Totoro from My Neighbor Totoro. You can see I’m a huge Miyazaki fan. I messed up here by cutting out the umbrella handle by mistake.. but I don’t really care. I think I can use this for address labels or something.
totoro mail stamp

My tools:
stamp tools

2 Responses to “Ventures into Stamp Making”

  1. cindy July 26, 2008 at 2:21 am #

    you are quite the noob.

  2. eula July 28, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    i am not quite the noob! ok yes i am.

Leave a Reply

